Things that happened at my work site today

Random discussions belong here.

Things that happened at my work site today

Postby Schmitty » Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:23 am

For those of you who don't know I work in the construction industry as a carpenter. I am on a site right now and we are building a unit housing complex, 3 stories high and about 18 rooms per floor. Now because there is a lot of elevated work going on, we have a crane on site at all times to lift materials and tools on and off the top floor.

Today at about 1 pm, I was working in a room on the second floor with some work mates, when all of a sudden we heard this loud thud and the sound of scaffolding falling. At first we didn't think much of it, until another work mate poked his head in the door and told us that the crane had fallen over. After telling us this all 4 of us dropped our tool belts and ran up stairs to make sure everyone was alright and accounted for
No one is entirely sure as to why it fell, but I'm willing to bet that an investigation will be carried out over the next couple of days. Luckily, no one was injured, and the worst thing to happen was the crane operator was pretty shaken. I didn't get any pictures of the damage done to the building, but the edge of the building where the boom collided with the building got damaged pretty badly. Also the hook hit the concrete slab with such force, that it nearly punched a hole right through it. To give you an idea, the slab is 170 mm (About 6.5 inches) thick. After that the site was shut down, and we will be going tomorrow to see if we can continue work or if the job site will be closed for a few days.

Honestly it was a pretty frightening experience, as I was working 2 rooms from the end where the crane fell. And I was absolutely terrified of what I might see when I was heading upstairs.
SchmittyOffline
Retired
Retired

Re: Things that happened at my work site today

Postby Juke » Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:51 am